August/September 2022 Writers Workshops

Drop-In Accountability Workshop

Description: Join managing editor Maria S. Picone for an open day of generative writing with optional prompts—we will introduce ourselves and set goals at the beginning of the session and then write in ‘sprints’ together for the four hours. Optional sharing will happen towards the end of the session. Feel free to come in or leave anytime.
Date: Sunday, August 28
Time: 7am Pacific/10am Eastern Time/4pm UTC-0/5pm CET
Duration: 4 hours
Level: All levels welcome
Price: $10, free for contributors and staff

Using Multiple Languages in Your Work

Description: Language is all around us, and yet, as writers, we tend to stick to English. In this workshop, we will read a sampling of writers and poets who engage with multilinguality in unique ways such as Craig Santos Perez, Jennifer Kwon Dobbs, Theresa Hak Kyung Cha, and Ananda Lima. As we practice embodying our own authentic viewpoints through language of significance, we will engage with concepts, themes, and objects that interrogate language—even English—in new ways. We will also have a culturally sensitive discussion on ways to interpret others’ writing, as well as best practices when creating multilingual works of art.

You do not need to be fluent in another language to take this class.

This is a generative class, so we will have plenty of time to do writing exercises (expect to leave with the seeds of at least three new pieces) and group sharing. Please bring one work or a passage from a work in progress that you feel could be improved by multilingual techniques. Please also bring your best listening ears and open minds. All genres of writers and levels of experience are welcome. Run by CR’s Managing Editor, Maria S. Picone.
Date: Sunday, September 4
Time: 10am Pacific/1pm Eastern Time/6pm UTC-0/7pm CET
Duration: 3 hours
Level: All levels welcome
Price: $50, discounts available for contributors, staff, or returning attendees
Add-on: Editorial feedback (document markup and 1-2 paragraphs of overall feedback on your workshop piece or a revised version sent within one month of the class) for $35
Cap: 25 attendees

Stubborn Writers Workshop

Description: Join managing editor Maria S. Picone for an open-style inclusive workshop on one poem or prose piece in community with other CR writers.
Date: Saturday, September 17
Time: 11am Pacific/2pm Eastern Time/7pm UTC-0/8pm CET
Duration: 2 hours
Level: All levels welcome
Price: $25, discounts available for contributors, staff, or returning attendees
Add-on: Editorial feedback (document markup and 1-2 paragraphs of overall feedback on your workshop piece or a revised version sent within one month of the class) for $35
Cap: 6 attendees

Unpacking Flash (for Stubborn Writers)

Description: Join managing editor Maria S. Picone for a generative 90-minute flash workshop. Meet fellow writers & talk all things flash! Newbies to the genre welcome. We will be using two pieces from CR writers as jumping-off points for our own work. You can expect to leave with starts for 2 new flash pieces, and inspiration for future writing.
NB: This will use different pieces and prompts than the two prior versions of the workshop.
Date: Sunday, September 25
Time: 11am Pacific/2pm Eastern Time/7pm UTC-0/8pm CET
Duration: 1.5 hours
Level: All levels welcome
Price: $25, discounts available for contributors, staff, or returning attendees
Add-on: Editorial feedback (document markup and 1-2 paragraphs of overall feedback on one flash sent within one month of the class) for $35
Cap: 25 attendees